Neurons Lab vs Azumo: full comparison for 2026
Quick verdict
Neurons Lab (4.5/5) edges ahead of Azumo (4.0/5) overall. Neurons Lab is the better choice for banks and insurers piloting AI agents. Azumo is the stronger option for U.S. startups wanting nearshore AI engineers. The right choice depends on your project size, budget, and required tech stack.
Neurons Lab vs Azumo: head-to-head summary
| Criterion | Neurons Lab | Azumo |
|---|---|---|
| Founded | 2019 | 2016 |
| HQ | London, UK | San Francisco, CA, USA |
| Team size | 50–249 | 80+ |
| Rating | 4.5 / 5 | 4.0 / 5 |
| Primary differentiator | AWS Generative AI competency combined with a financial-services client base | Latin American engineers working U.S. hours |
| Pricing model | Fixed-scope discovery and pilots, then time & materials; rates on request | Dedicated teams and time & materials; rates on request |
| Min. engagement | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Primary tech stack | AWS Bedrock, Amazon SageMaker, LangChain | Azure OpenAI, AWS Bedrock, LangChain |
| Industries served | Financial services, Insurance, Healthcare | SaaS, Media, Healthcare, Financial services |
Neurons Lab vs Azumo: overview
Neurons Lab
Founded in 2019 and based in London with a second office in Singapore, Neurons Lab is a small AI consultancy of roughly 50–250 people that draws on a wider contractor network. In March 2024 it became one of the first firms to earn the AWS Generative AI competency, and it's an AWS Advanced Tier partner. Its work skews toward banks and insurers that want agents running inside existing compliance controls; HSBC and Visa appear as named clients in third-party listings (independently unverifiable). The firm is smaller than most of this list, but its regulated-industry experience is unusually concentrated for its size.
Azumo
Azumo is a nearshore software firm based in San Francisco, founded in 2016, with engineers across Latin America. Built In lists 79 employees, while other directories show 201–500, so its size is unclear. The company works on AI, data engineering, cloud, and mobile, and cites more than 350 delivered projects (per G2 profile; independently unverifiable). U.S. companies that want daily overlap with an outside team at nearshore rates are its main buyers.
Services and capabilities: Neurons Lab vs Azumo
| Capability | Neurons Lab | Azumo |
|---|---|---|
| CRM / ERP integration | ✗ | ✗ |
| LLM API gateway & cost control | ✓ | ✓ |
| Document processing | ✗ | ✗ |
| Conversational AI | ✓ | ✓ |
| Agentic workflows | ✓ | ✗ |
| Fixed-price pilot | ✗ | ✗ |
| Managed services after launch | ✗ | ✗ |
Tech stack comparison: Neurons Lab vs Azumo
| Framework / platform | Neurons Lab | Azumo |
|---|---|---|
| Salesforce | ✓ | N/A |
| SAP | N/A | N/A |
| Microsoft Dynamics 365 | N/A | N/A |
| HubSpot | N/A | N/A |
| Snowflake | N/A | ✓ |
| Databricks | N/A | N/A |
| BigQuery | N/A | N/A |
| Azure OpenAI | N/A | ✓ |
| AWS Bedrock | ✓ | ✓ |
| Zendesk | N/A | N/A |
Pricing comparison: Neurons Lab vs Azumo
| Criterion | Neurons Lab | Azumo |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum engagement | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Engagement models | Fixed-scope project, Time & materials | Dedicated team, Time & materials |
| Rate transparency | Not public | Not public |
| Price tier | Mid-market | Mid-market |
Target audience comparison: Neurons Lab vs Azumo
| Dimension | Neurons Lab | Azumo |
|---|---|---|
| Best company size | Startup to mid-market | Startup to mid-market |
| Best industries | Financial services, Insurance, Healthcare | SaaS, Media, Healthcare |
| Best use cases | An agent that prepares KYC (know your customer) case files for an analyst to approve, Claims triage assistants that read policy documents | Adding a chat assistant to a SaaS product, Extending an in-house team with LLM engineers |
| Typical project type | Fixed-scope project | Dedicated team |
Neurons Lab vs Azumo: pros and cons
| Neurons Lab | |
|---|---|
| + | Among the earliest holders of the AWS Generative AI competency, announced March 2024. |
| + | Most case work comes from banking and insurance, where audit trails and approvals are part of the spec. |
| + | Senior consultants run delivery directly on a team this size. |
| + | AWS Public Sector Partner status since September 2024 opens government procurement routes. |
| - | Its client work is concentrated in finance, so references in manufacturing or retail are thin |
| - | Headcount figures conflict between sources, and part of the bench is contracted |
| - | No managed-service option is described for after go-live |
| Azumo | |
|---|---|
| + | Full time-zone overlap with U.S. clients. |
| + | Nearshore rates below U.S. onshore firms. |
| + | Mixes AI work with the app and data engineering around it. |
| - | Team size is reported anywhere from about 80 to 500 |
| - | No platform partner tiers to verify |
| - | No fixed-price pilot or managed-service offer published |
Who should choose Neurons Lab?
A typical fit: an agent that prepares KYC (know your customer) case files for an analyst to approve.
AWS Generative AI competency combined with a financial-services client base. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Financial services, Insurance, Healthcare.
Who should choose Azumo?
A typical fit: adding a chat assistant to a SaaS product.
Latin American engineers working U.S. hours. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in SaaS, Media, Healthcare, Financial services.
Decision matrix: Neurons Lab vs Azumo
| Your situation | Recommended choice |
|---|---|
| You want a priced pilot before committing to a rollout | Neither advertises one; ask for a scoped pilot quote |
| You need someone to run and monitor the system after launch | Neither; plan for your own team to run it |
| Your budget is at the lower end | Compare: Neurons Lab (Not disclosed) vs Azumo (Not disclosed) |
| The AI has to read and write in your CRM or ERP | Check each profile; neither lists CRM or ERP work |
| You need multi-step agents acting across systems | Neurons Lab |
| You need a large team for a multi-year program | Azumo |
Use case fit: Neurons Lab vs Azumo
| Use case | Neurons Lab fit | Azumo fit | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| An agent that prepares KYC (know your customer) case files for an analyst to approve | Strong | Limited | Neurons Lab |
| Claims triage assistants that read policy documents | Strong | Limited | Neurons Lab |
| Adding a chat assistant to a SaaS product | Limited | Strong | Azumo |
| Extending an in-house team with LLM engineers | Limited | Strong | Azumo |
Verdict: Neurons Lab vs Azumo
Neurons Lab (4.5/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Integration Services projects. AWS Generative AI competency combined with a financial-services client base.
Azumo (4.0/5) is worth a look if you need extending an in-house team with LLM engineers. If your situation matches that, Azumo is a competitive option.
Related comparisons
Neurons Lab vs Azumo FAQ
Is Neurons Lab better than Azumo?
Neurons Lab (4.5/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. Neurons Lab's strongest advantage: among the earliest holders of the AWS Generative AI competency, announced March 2024. Azumo's strongest advantage: full time-zone overlap with U.S. clients.
How do Neurons Lab and Azumo differ in pricing?
Neurons Lab's pricing: fixed-scope discovery and pilots, then time & materials; rates on request. Azumo's pricing: dedicated teams and time & materials; rates on request. Any hourly bands shown come from Clutch, not a published rate card, so a scoping call is still needed for a project quote.
Which is better for enterprise: Neurons Lab or Azumo?
Azumo is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each provider before shortlisting.
What are the main differences between Neurons Lab and Azumo?
Neurons Lab's primary differentiator is: AWS Generative AI competency combined with a financial-services client base. Azumo's primary differentiator is: latin American engineers working U.S. hours. They also differ in team size (50–249 vs 80+), minimum engagement (Not disclosed vs Not disclosed), and primary industries served (Financial services, Insurance vs SaaS, Media).
Verify all details directly with each provider before making a decision.