Neurons Lab vs Koombea: full comparison for 2026
Quick verdict
Neurons Lab (4.5/5) edges ahead of Koombea (3.9/5) overall. Neurons Lab is the better choice for banks and insurers piloting AI agents. Koombea is the stronger option for product teams wanting fixed-scope AI sprints. The right choice depends on your project size, budget, and required tech stack.
Neurons Lab vs Koombea: head-to-head summary
| Criterion | Neurons Lab | Koombea |
|---|---|---|
| Founded | 2019 | 2007 |
| HQ | London, UK | Barranquilla, Colombia |
| Team size | 50–249 | 50–249 |
| Rating | 4.5 / 5 | 3.9 / 5 |
| Primary differentiator | AWS Generative AI competency combined with a financial-services client base | Story-point-scoped AI Pods in two-week cycles |
| Pricing model | Fixed-scope discovery and pilots, then time & materials; rates on request | Fixed-scope AI Pods; $50–$99/hr (Clutch band) |
| Min. engagement | Not disclosed | $50,000+ (Clutch) |
| Primary tech stack | AWS Bedrock, Amazon SageMaker, LangChain | Salesforce, HubSpot, SAP |
| Industries served | Financial services, Insurance, Healthcare | SaaS, Real estate, Healthcare, Retail & e-commerce |
Neurons Lab vs Koombea: overview
Neurons Lab
Founded in 2019 and based in London with a second office in Singapore, Neurons Lab is a small AI consultancy of roughly 50–250 people that draws on a wider contractor network. In March 2024 it became one of the first firms to earn the AWS Generative AI competency, and it's an AWS Advanced Tier partner. Its work skews toward banks and insurers that want agents running inside existing compliance controls; HSBC and Visa appear as named clients in third-party listings (independently unverifiable). The firm is smaller than most of this list, but its regulated-industry experience is unusually concentrated for its size.
Koombea
Koombea was founded in Barranquilla, Colombia, in 2007 and has launched more than 200 apps. Clutch puts its team at 50–249 people. The company has repositioned around AI-first products, agentic AI, and integrated systems, and sells AI Pods: a scope approved in story points and delivered in two-week cycles. It also offers ScopeGen AI, an AI-assisted scoping tool. Clutch shows a $50–$99 hourly band and a $50,000 minimum, though the company says it now quotes fixed-scope estimates.
Services and capabilities: Neurons Lab vs Koombea
| Capability | Neurons Lab | Koombea |
|---|---|---|
| CRM / ERP integration | ✗ | ✓ |
| LLM API gateway & cost control | ✓ | ✓ |
| Document processing | ✗ | ✗ |
| Conversational AI | ✓ | ✗ |
| Agentic workflows | ✓ | ✓ |
| Fixed-price pilot | ✗ | ✗ |
| Managed services after launch | ✗ | ✗ |
Tech stack comparison: Neurons Lab vs Koombea
| Framework / platform | Neurons Lab | Koombea |
|---|---|---|
| Salesforce | ✓ | ✓ |
| SAP | N/A | ✓ |
| Microsoft Dynamics 365 | N/A | ✓ |
| HubSpot | N/A | ✓ |
| Snowflake | N/A | N/A |
| Databricks | N/A | N/A |
| BigQuery | N/A | N/A |
| Azure OpenAI | N/A | ✓ |
| AWS Bedrock | ✓ | N/A |
| Zendesk | N/A | N/A |
Pricing comparison: Neurons Lab vs Koombea
| Criterion | Neurons Lab | Koombea |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum engagement | Not disclosed | $50,000+ (Clutch) |
| Engagement models | Fixed-scope project, Time & materials | Fixed-scope project, Dedicated team |
| Rate transparency | Not public | Minimum disclosed |
| Price tier | Mid-market | Mid-market |
Target audience comparison: Neurons Lab vs Koombea
| Dimension | Neurons Lab | Koombea |
|---|---|---|
| Best company size | Startup to mid-market | Startup to mid-market |
| Best industries | Financial services, Insurance, Healthcare | SaaS, Real estate, Healthcare |
| Best use cases | An agent that prepares KYC (know your customer) case files for an analyst to approve, Claims triage assistants that read policy documents | Adding an AI assistant to a startup's product in sprints, Connecting a HubSpot CRM to an LLM for reply drafts |
| Typical project type | Fixed-scope project | Fixed-scope project |
Neurons Lab vs Koombea: pros and cons
| Neurons Lab | |
|---|---|
| + | Among the earliest holders of the AWS Generative AI competency, announced March 2024. |
| + | Most case work comes from banking and insurance, where audit trails and approvals are part of the spec. |
| + | Senior consultants run delivery directly on a team this size. |
| + | AWS Public Sector Partner status since September 2024 opens government procurement routes. |
| - | Its client work is concentrated in finance, so references in manufacturing or retail are thin |
| - | Headcount figures conflict between sources, and part of the bench is contracted |
| - | No managed-service option is described for after go-live |
| Koombea | |
|---|---|
| + | Fixed-scope pods give a defined cost per cycle. |
| + | Nearshore team with U.S. time-zone overlap. |
| + | Lists CRM and ERP integrations among its AI services. |
| - | Clutch shows a $50K minimum that's at odds with its fixed-scope positioning |
| - | AI positioning is recent compared with its app-development history |
| - | No managed-service offer after launch |
Who should choose Neurons Lab?
A typical fit: an agent that prepares KYC (know your customer) case files for an analyst to approve.
AWS Generative AI competency combined with a financial-services client base. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Financial services, Insurance, Healthcare.
Who should choose Koombea?
A typical fit: adding an AI assistant to a startup's product in sprints.
Story-point-scoped AI Pods in two-week cycles. Minimum engagement starts at $50,000+ (Clutch). Works best with clients in SaaS, Real estate, Healthcare, Retail & e-commerce.
Decision matrix: Neurons Lab vs Koombea
| Your situation | Recommended choice |
|---|---|
| You want a priced pilot before committing to a rollout | Neither advertises one; ask for a scoped pilot quote |
| You need someone to run and monitor the system after launch | Neither; plan for your own team to run it |
| Your budget is at the lower end | Compare: Neurons Lab (Not disclosed) vs Koombea ($50,000+ (Clutch)) |
| The AI has to read and write in your CRM or ERP | Koombea |
| You need multi-step agents acting across systems | Both build agentic workflows |
| You need a large team for a multi-year program | Neurons Lab |
Use case fit: Neurons Lab vs Koombea
| Use case | Neurons Lab fit | Koombea fit | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| An agent that prepares KYC (know your customer) case files for an analyst to approve | Strong | Limited | Neurons Lab |
| Claims triage assistants that read policy documents | Strong | Limited | Neurons Lab |
| Adding an AI assistant to a startup's product in sprints | Limited | Strong | Koombea |
| Connecting a HubSpot CRM to an LLM for reply drafts | Limited | Strong | Koombea |
Verdict: Neurons Lab vs Koombea
Neurons Lab (4.5/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Integration Services projects. AWS Generative AI competency combined with a financial-services client base.
Koombea (3.9/5) is worth a look if you need connecting a HubSpot CRM to an LLM for reply drafts. If your situation matches that, Koombea is a competitive option.
Related comparisons
Neurons Lab vs Koombea FAQ
Is Neurons Lab better than Koombea?
Neurons Lab (4.5/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. Neurons Lab's strongest advantage: among the earliest holders of the AWS Generative AI competency, announced March 2024. Koombea's strongest advantage: fixed-scope pods give a defined cost per cycle.
How do Neurons Lab and Koombea differ in pricing?
Neurons Lab's pricing: fixed-scope discovery and pilots, then time & materials; rates on request. Koombea's pricing: fixed-scope AI Pods; $50–$99/hr (Clutch band) with a minimum engagement of $50,000+ (Clutch). Any hourly bands shown come from Clutch, not a published rate card, so a scoping call is still needed for a project quote.
Which is better for enterprise: Neurons Lab or Koombea?
Neurons Lab is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each provider before shortlisting.
What are the main differences between Neurons Lab and Koombea?
Neurons Lab's primary differentiator is: AWS Generative AI competency combined with a financial-services client base. Koombea's primary differentiator is: story-point-scoped AI Pods in two-week cycles. They also differ in team size (50–249 vs 50–249), minimum engagement (Not disclosed vs $50,000+ (Clutch)), and primary industries served (Financial services, Insurance vs SaaS, Real estate).
Verify all details directly with each provider before making a decision.